Light Summer Reading, To Your Satisfaction

24 Jun

mornings done right

For me, reading is ritual. I like to get my hands on a good hardcover book. Paperback is less expensive, but something about the way I hold the book when I read curls the covers in a way that drives me crazy. I borrowed a book of Peter Gizzi poetry from my boyfriend and bent the front cover so bad that I threw it under a heavy dictionary for a week (trying to recover the damage), with no success!

These first couple weeks of summer, I’ve been reading like a banshee for plenty of reasons, but mostly because the more I read, the more I write, and that’s always a good thing.  This is what I’ve had my hands on lately:

spellbinding

1.) Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

Have to finish the re-read before the 2nd movie comes out, of course.  Beyond that, I’m starting my studies for an M.A. in Children’s Lit. in about 6 weeks, so I’ve been very into all things Young Adult/Adolescent lately.  Harry Potter is just, a thing, for me; I can’t explain why I love it so much, but there’s substance there!

A very meta-literary 'whodunnit'

2. El Móvil by Javier Cercas

El Móvil (which means, “the motive,” in Spanish) is the story of a young author struggling to pen his first novel about a pair of young newlyweds who murder their elderly neighbor.  Meanwhile, the author himself lives in an apartment complex with a pair of young newlyweds and, you guessed it, a seriously unsafe elderly neighbor.  And the walls are thin.

The detective-esque genre in Latin American literature is always an appealing one to me.  It’s especially close to my heart right now because I’ve been preparing to do a little Columbo work myself.  My (sadly) ailing grandfather has set one last charge to me – research a 60-year old murder case in the San Bernardino microfiche archives.  It’s going to be a strange journey, but I can’t wait to see what I find.  And this book definitely puts me in the mood for sleuthing, murder, mystery, and intrigue.

3. The Green Tea Book by Lester Mitscher & Victoria Toews

I picked up this book in a bargain bin at the UCSD bookstore for $1.99, and it’s given me enough tea trivia to last a lifetime!  Did you know that green tea’s active polyphenols cause carbohydrates to digest more slowly and help regulate blood sugar?  Or that green tea provides flouride for strong, healthy teeth while simultaneously inhibiting the primary bacterial cause (S. mutans) of cavities?  Well, I didn’t, but I do now!  And many more weird facts about the health benefits of green tea.

 

Have you read any summer-worthy page turners lately?

 

photo credit 1

2 Responses to “Light Summer Reading, To Your Satisfaction”

  1. Punctuation Mark June 26, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    i just saw on friday the first part of the movie… can’t wait to see the second part! have a great week!

    • elohorn June 27, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

      i can’t wait either, just a few short weeks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

