Intuitive Eating, To Your Satisfaction

17 Jul

Not to brag, but I actually lost weight on vacation.  While eating stuff like the chamomile creme brulee pictured above!  And it’s such a relief.

Writing down everything that you eat for two whole months makes you hyper-aware of the pervasive nature of food.  Exhausting hardly begins to cover it.  I’m grateful that I’ve learned how to eat in a healthier way, but I can’t go on being afraid of the things I love forever.

So I decided to just say, “fuck it,” and go on a real vacation from all the head games with food.   I was nervous about going off the wagon, but I think I knew intuitively that I could make good decisions.  Trusting myself in that way again felt foreign and very, very nice.

The craziest thing to say is that it was really easy.  I scavenged what I could from the continental breakfast, went outside and moved around a lot during the middle of every day, had fancy dinners with my sister, and everything turned out okay.

tree pose at the gravity garden in Carmel

I guess it’s all about striking a balance :]

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Intuitive Eating, To Your Satisfaction”

  1. jillian m. {coffee, light and sweet} July 18, 2011 at 4:57 am #

    I’m a big believer in indulging every once in a while. Creme brulee is one of my favorite desserts! So creamy and decadent. And I love the hard shell. Ah! I’m dreaming of it now.

    • elohorn July 18, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

      cracking the shell for the first time with the spoon.. magic moment!

  2. Brandi {not your average ordinary} July 23, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    Creme Brulee is such a weakness for me. Good for you to be able to lose weight on your vacation! I definitely need to listen to my body more and my emotions less when it comes to eating. I’m still looking for that balance.

    • elohorn July 27, 2011 at 10:58 am #

      listening to one’s body seems like it should be the easiest thing in the world, but it’s a very tenuous balance to strike!

  3. Punctuation Mark July 27, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    i loooooove creme brulee… so good!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

