The Anti White-Whine, To Your Satisfaction

4 Aug

So I was recently made aware of the existence of whitewhine.com, where people repost examples of other privileged people complaining about petty inconveniences.

I don’t know if it counts as “whitewhining”, but it got me thinking that, honestly, the dominant mode of discourse in my family really is complaining.

That’s weird to say because I consider us a fairly happy lot, but anytime we’re all together, we just bitch about everything!  I feel like it’s one way of sharing our day-to-day with each other.  It’s the fabric of the way we converse: one person complains, another commiserates, and we strangely feel closer.

And that’s alright with me, but I think it’s also good for state of mind to find absolutely no fault sometimes.  Pick something you just can’t complain about no matter how hard you try!

I can’t find a way to make any complaints about:

  • Hiking: spending time outside & exercising around nature
  • Eating seafood: I learned how in 2009, and now I’m never going to stop!
  • My Victoria’s Secret wall: the yellow pinstripes give me a sunny disposition, and they remind me of all my friends who helped me to make them :]

    cafe 21, north park

  • Champagne cocktails: (pictured here, raspmosa)
  • Edible flowers on top of food: (pictured here, nasturtium on poached eggs)

6 Responses to “The Anti White-Whine, To Your Satisfaction”

  1. Brandi {not your average ordinary} August 6, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    Every now and then I become acutely aware of this too. I hate that I whine, but sometimes it’s just so darn cathartic! I think the key is being able to whine with people you trust, because otherwise, it can get annoying. And it’s definitely good to have a subject to switch to that doesn’t involve any whining at all. This website though, I’m definitely going to have to check out.

    • elohorn August 8, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

      It’s like clearing the palette for a slew of positive thoughts to rush in :]

  2. your sister August 8, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    did you just whine about us whining too much? i’m not sure what to call this category of complaints… meta-whining?

    • elohorn August 8, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

      if you noticed, i came to a conclusion in the end that the whine is an okay thing if it creates a sense of community.

      you whining about me whining about you whining -> the triple agent (see Severus Snape)

  3. Sarah S @RunningOnWords August 12, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    Oh, I love the the wall! It’s so bright and pretty!

  4. Punctuation Mark November 2, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    i think it’s like a great sneeze… you do it, you feel better and then move on… ha!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

