Feeling at Home on the Road, To Your Satisfaction

11 Jul

At home, anywhere: in this case, Pismo Beach

I’m currently on the road, hiking my weight in gold up and down central California.  My sister and I are having a beautiful trip so far, alternately driving up the coast & stopping to explore interesting cliffs, meadows, and possibly happy hours, too.

Even when I’m in itinerant mode, I still feel pretty at home.  I guess maybe that’s not so strange.  I find comfort in a mixture of the familiar and the (as of yet) unknown.

In the last 2 days, I’ve found secret waterfalls, collected beach glass, climbed cliff top trees, scraped my knees while clambering over mysterious rocks.  But I’ve also sat in the room & done just the right amount of nothing, watched Harry Potter on ABC Family (which is, exactly what I would be doing at home).

current view from my static position

 

Being flexible, not sweating the small things, and making a practice of relaxation is a good thing :]

Leave a Reply

